top of page

Neutrogena SkinClearing Oil-Free Makeup Review


Today's Post is going to be a full review of Neutrogena's SkinClearing Oil-free Makeup with Microclear technology. This is a drug store foundation that retails for $11.99, which I think is in the mid to high price range. You get 1 fl oz of product and there are 12 shades to choose from (I'm using classic ivory). Neutrogena claims that this foundation is, shine free, has a natural coverage that lets skin breathe and wont clog pores. Something unique about this foundation is that it has Microclear technology which is supposed to boost the power of Salicylic Acid (contains .05%) by breaking through oil and unclogging pores for fast acne relief.

To best test out this foundation I applied it to my freshly washed and moisturized face without using any primer or setting powder. Also I used a thick bristled flat top makeup brush, but you could really use whatever method you prefer. The consistency is liquidy but not too runny, very easy to blend. Color match is good, feels very light but offers great coverage. Has a nice velvety matte finish but is not overly cakey, once set feels soft and almost powdery. Does cling to dry patches, making them more noticeable, but since I have oily skin, those spots will probably be less noticeable as the day goes on. It is not settling in to lines or pores. I am very impressed with the fact that even without primer or setting powder it greatly minimizes the appearance of pores. This is probably one of the things I'm loving the most.

1 hour after applying, still looks amazing. I did apply blush, did some slight contouring, filled in my brows a little, applied eye makeup and lipstick. Did not apply any setting powder and did not alter the appearance of the foundation in any way. My skin doesn't fell oily, it still feels powdery to the touch, pores still minimized, no oxidation, and still very even.

4 hours after applying, pores are becoming more noticeable. My skin is super oily in my t-zone, sides of my face still look good and matte. Product is starting to pool up and shift a little in spots in my t-zone area. Coverage is still going strong, there is no oxidization At this point on a regular day I would want to blot and apply a little powder. I think that if I where to blot my t-zone right now a good bit of foundation would come off due to the pooling up and slight shifting of product.

6 hours after applying, I really wanted to leave this foundation go without touching it in any way for a full 8 hours, but I just couldn't bear it any longer. My t-zone just became so unbelievably oily, and something desperately needed to be done. At this point I ultimately decided to just completely remove my make up.

This foundation overall is a great drugstore foundation. On its own it didn't work miracles on my oily-ness, but offered great natural looking light weight coverage, with decent staying power. Did not break me out or cause any irritation (some makeups actually cause my face to itch like crazy). I would recommend this foundation for some one ho has combination with a slightly oily t-zone. Seems suitable for breakout prone skin as well. Probably wouldn't recommend for someone with dry skin since it did cling to small dry patches and made them a little more noticeable. On a scale from 1 to 10 I would give this foundation a 7. I think that if I would use primer and setting powder I would get an extra 4 hours of shine-freeness and then I would give this product a 9.

bottom of page